Ubuntu 9.10 and Samba Shares (testparm error)

ATTENTION: This BLOG/POST has moved location. CLICK HERE to go to the new Techies R Us blog!

37 Responses to “Ubuntu 9.10 and Samba Shares (testparm error)”

  1. diogo Says:

    I love those right-clean-way-to-fix-things. Thanks for your hint, I was having that exact problem.

  2. Admin Says:

    Your very welcome!

  3. rojoloco47 Says:

    That was what I was facing and was stuck to search the fix for it, Thanks for the simple tip ,Great Share

  4. Anant Says:

    i hav install samba-common-bin from internet den too prblm occurs

  5. Joan Marc Guillamon Says:

    Just what i need! thanks from spain! ^^

  6. jose Says:

    I did your instructions, but I have my Ubuntu updated and I can’t share my folder :S, I don’t know why. the system throw “Failed to execute child process “testparm” (No such file or directory)” 😦 😦

    • Admin Says:

      Sorry its not the solution for you. Keep trying … the solution is out there … and let us know what you finally do to fix it.

    • doblehksp Says:

      try the “terminal” solution
      by http://www.jordanpeterson.me

      it’s is all vcovered in there…

      works for me at least..

      my understanding:
      although the ubuntu is updated, but the file “testparm” is stil using “testparm.samba3” as its name, so we should change by typing this:
      sudo cp /usr/bin/testparm.samba3 /usr/bin/testparm

      then file “net.samba3” should be copied to folder “/usr/bin/net” by typing this:
      sudo cp /usr/bin/net.samba3 /usr/bin/net

      at last, the file permision of ” /usr/bin/testparm” and “/usr/bin/net” should be changed by typing this one:
      sudo chmod +x /usr/bin/testparm /usr/bin/net

      soryy if im being a smartass,.. just wanna share my tiny knowledge..

      @Admin
      nice job here.. thanks for your article…

      Andika
      -Salatiga,Indonesia-

  7. Andrew Smith Says:

    Thanks! I was just working myself up to having to set up Samba manually but this tip sorted the problem!! Great relief…

  8. Swapnil Says:

    Thanks for sharing. I was having same problems. It solved my problem.

  9. Anil Mahadev Says:

    Thanks,

    Worked like a charm :).

  10. Edward Says:

    Thank’s a lot! This is just what the doctor ordered! Actually I didn’t expect to find a solution of the problem so quickly. By the way after upgrading the samba must be restarted.

  11. miki Says:

    Right,thank you for this solution! it stucks me from sharing files between ubuntu(installed on vmware) and win7.

  12. Jordan Peterson Says:

    If you still can’t get it working, try this:
    http://www.jordanpeterson.me/node/222

  13. Albert Says:

    Thank’s man.

  14. mastermesh Says:

    Awesome fix… Ubuntu folks should really fix this in the latest installer!

  15. Jordan Peterson Says:

    Thanks for the credit and link brother!
    Jordan

  16. dinov Says:

    Thank you !!
    It works in my ubuntu 9.10
    Great work…

  17. mehdi karamnejad Says:

    this problem almost took me an hour! I was looking for some fix in samba config file and voila! that is the simple solution :p


Leave a comment